Requests for access to files under the Freedom of Information Act (FoIA)

Under the Federal Act on Freedom of Information in the Administration (FoIA), anyone can request access to official documents produced by the Federal Administration, without having to prove any special interest. 

The FoIA does not apply to access to official documents relating to criminal proceedings and international mutual assistance procedures. The legal basis for these matters are the Swiss Criminal Procedure Code (CrimPC) and the Federal Act on International Mutual Assistance in Criminal Matters (IMAC) respectively. 

The Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland (OAG) therefore only responds to requests for access based on the FoIA when they relate to administrative matters (e.g. the management of the OAG or the fulfilment of its tasks). Only documents issued after 1 July 2006 can be accessed. 

Access to official documents is subject to a fee of at least CHF 100 in all cases. You will be informed if the fee is expected to exceed CHF 100. If you then want to continue you with your request, you must notify the OAG within 10 days, otherwise the request will be regarded as withdrawn. 

There are no formal requirements for making a request and no reasons need to be given. Please indicate that your request is based on the Freedom of Information Act (FoIA). The request must contain sufficient information to enable the OAG to identify the official document requested.

You can find further information on the Freedom of Information Act on the website of the Federal Data Protection and Information Commissioner (FDPIC).

Contact

Requests for access to files based on the Freedom of Information Act should be sent to: 

Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland
Legal Services
Guisanplatz 1
CH-3003 Bern
T +41 58 462 45 79, F +41 58 462 45 07

Demandes de consultation selon la loi sur la transparence (LTrans)

Selon la loi fédérale sur le principe de la transparence dans l’administration (Loi sur la transparence; LTrans), tout un chacun peut demander d’avoir accès aux documents officiels de l’administration fédérale sans avoir à justifier d’un intérêt particulier. 

La LTrans ne s’applique pas à l’accès à des documents officiels concernant des procédures pénales et des procédures d’entraide judiciaire internationale. La base légale à cet égard est le Code de procédure pénale suisse (CPP) ainsi que la loi fédérale sur l’entraide judiciaire internationale en matière pénale (EIMP). 

En se basant sur la LTrans, ne sont donc traitées au MPC que les demandes de consultation relatives à des affaires administratives (par exemple la gestion du MPC et la manière dont il accomplit ses tâches). Les documents accessibles ne sont que ceux qui ont été établis après le 1er juillet 2006. 

L’accès aux documents officiels est en principe soumis au paiement d’un émolument, lequel est facturé à partir de 100.- frs. Si le montant de l’émolument devait dépasser 100.- frs, vous en serez informé. Si vous maintenez votre demande, vous devez en informer le MPC dans un délai de 10 jours. Dans le cas contraire, la demande est considérée comme retirée. 

La demande peut être envoyée sans formalités et elle n’a pas à être motivée plus avant. Merci de mentionner dans votre demande qu’elle se base sur la loi sur la transparence. La demande doit contenir suffisamment d’indications pour que le MPC puisse identifier le document officiel dont la consultation est demandée.

Vous trouverez d’autres informations sur la loi sur la transparence sur le site internet du Préposé fédéral à la protection des données et à la transparence (PFPDT).

Contact

Merci d’adresser vos demandes de consultation basées sur la loi sur la transparence au: 

Ministère public de la Confédération
Service juridique
Guisanplatz 1
CH-3003 Berne
T +41 58 462 45 79, F +41 58 462 45 07