Requests for access to files under the Freedom of Information Act (FoIA)

Under the Federal Act on Freedom of Information in the Administration (FoIA), anyone can request access to official documents produced by the Federal Administration, without having to prove any special interest. 

The FoIA does not apply to access to official documents relating to criminal proceedings and international mutual assistance procedures. The legal basis for these matters are the Swiss Criminal Procedure Code (CrimPC) and the Federal Act on International Mutual Assistance in Criminal Matters (IMAC) respectively. 

The Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland (OAG) therefore only responds to requests for access based on the FoIA when they relate to administrative matters (e.g. the management of the OAG or the fulfilment of its tasks). Only documents issued after 1 July 2006 can be accessed. 

Access to official documents is subject to a fee of at least CHF 100 in all cases. You will be informed if the fee is expected to exceed CHF 100. If you then want to continue you with your request, you must notify the OAG within 10 days, otherwise the request will be regarded as withdrawn. 

There are no formal requirements for making a request and no reasons need to be given. Please indicate that your request is based on the Freedom of Information Act (FoIA). The request must contain sufficient information to enable the OAG to identify the official document requested.

You can find further information on the Freedom of Information Act on the website of the Federal Data Protection and Information Commissioner (FDPIC).

Contact

Requests for access to files based on the Freedom of Information Act should be sent to: 

Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland
Legal Services
Guisanplatz 1
CH-3003 Bern
T +41 58 462 45 79, F +41 58 462 45 07

Einsichtsersuchen gestützt auf das Öffentlichkeitsgesetz (BGÖ)

Gestützt auf das Bundesgesetz über das Öffentlichkeitsprinzip der Verwaltung (Öffentlichkeitsgesetz; BGÖ) kann jedermann Zugang zu amtlichen Dokumenten der Bundesverwaltung verlangen, ohne ein besonderes Interesse nachweisen zu müssen. 

Das BGÖ gilt nicht für den Zugang zu amtlichen Dokumenten betreffend Strafverfahren und Verfahren der internationalen Rechtshilfe. Rechtliche Grundlage hierfür ist die Schweizerische Strafprozessordnung (StPO) sowie das Bundesgesetz über die internationale Rechtshilfe in Strafsachen (IRSG). 

In der BA werden gestützt auf das BGÖ daher nur Einsichtsgesuche behandelt, die administrative Angelegenheiten (z.B. die Verwaltung der BA und deren Aufgabenerfüllung) betreffen. Zugänglich sind ausschliesslich Dokumente, die nach dem 1. Juli 2006 erstellt worden sind. 

Der Zugang zu amtlichen Dokumenten ist grundsätzlich gebührenpflichtig und wird ab Fr. 100.- in Rechnung gestellt. Sie werden informiert, wenn die zu erwartende Höhe der Gebühr Fr. 100.- übersteigt. Wollen Sie am Gesuch festhalten, so müssen Sie dies der BA innert 10 Tagen mitteilen. Ansonsten gilt das Gesuch als zurückgezogen.

Das Gesuch kann formlos und ohne nähere Begründung eingereicht werden. Bitte vermerken Sie im Gesuch, dass dieses gestützt auf das Öffentlichkeitsgesetz erfolgt. Das Gesuch muss genügend Angaben enthalten, die es der BA erlauben, das verlangte amtliche Dokument zu identifizieren.

Weitere Informationen zum Öffentlichkeitsgesetz finden Sie auf der Website des Eidgenössischen Datenschutz- und Öffentlichkeitsbeauftragten (EDÖB).

Kontakt

Einsichtsersuchen gestützt auf das Öffentlichkeitsgesetz richten Sie bitte an: 

Bundesanwaltschaft
Rechtsdienst
Guisanplatz 1
CH-3003 Bern
T +41 58 462 45 79, F +41 58 462 45 07