The Office of the Attorney General of the Swiss Confederation is headed by the Attorney General of the Swiss Confederation (OAG), who is appointed by the Federal Assembly. The Attorney General has two deputies, also appointed by the Federal Assembly. The OAG has several locations in Switzerland. Its headquarters are located in Bern and it has further offices in Zurich, Lausanne and Lugano. The OAG currently employs around 280 staff.

On 1 February 2016, a new strategically defined organisational structure was put in place. The number of sections was reduced. They are now organised according to offences or fields of expertise.

The divisions National Security, Organised Crime (SK); White-Collar Crime (WiKri); and Mutual Legal Assistance, Terrorism, International Criminal Law and Cybercrime (RTVC) conduct proceedings in their given fields of crime and carry out the core tasks of the OAG. The WiKri division has offices in Bern, Lausanne, Lugano and Zurich.

The Forensic Financial Analysis Division (FFA) provides its services directly in individual criminal cases by analysing specific economic issues.

The General Secretariat includes the following units that provide support: OAG Development, Finances, Human Resources, Legal Services, and OAG Services, which includes ICT services and logistics. The General Secretariat also plays a direct part in criminal proceedings by processing incoming communications (CPC) and is responsible for enforcing certain judgments.

Internal and external communication is a management tool reporting directly to the Attorney General of the Swiss Confederation.