The Attorney General of Switzerland has overall responsibility for the Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland (OAG). The OAG is structured into six divisions: STK, WiKri, RV, FFA, the General Secretariat and the Personal Office of the Attorney General.

The Attorney General of Switzerland

The Attorney General of Switzerland is in charge of all operational, staffing and organisational aspects of the Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland.

The Directorate

The Directorate is the Attorney General of Switzerland’s consultative body. It meets regularly to discuss operational, staff-related and organisational matters and other important business and to prepare for strategic decisions.

Statutory duty, tasks and legal principles

The OAG is responsible for investigating and prosecuting the offences set out in Articles 23 and 24 of the Criminal Procedure Code and in specific federal acts.

Strategy 2020 - 2023

The OAG’s strategy for 2020 to 2023 sets out the priorities for action over this period, with the goal of using the available resources as effectively as possible.

Professional ethics

The OAG’s code of conduct defines the ethical rules that all OAG employees should follow in the course of their work.


Since the Criminal Justice Authorities Act came into force on 1 January 2011, the OAG has been an autonomous authority outside the Federal Administration, responsible for its own management.