Statutory duty, tasks and legal principles

Statutory duty

As the prosecutors’ office for the Confederation, the Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland (OAG) is responsible for investigating and prosecuting offences that fall under federal jurisdiction, as specified in Articles 23 and 24 of the Swiss Criminal Procedure Code (CrimPC; SR 312.0) and in other federal legislation.

These offences comprise classic state security crimes, i.e. criminal acts primarily directed against the Swiss Confederation or which strongly affect its interests. They also include complex intercantonal or international organised crime offences (including terrorism and its financing), money laundering and corruption. In certain circumstances, the OAG also has jurisdiction over cases of white collar crime that have an intercantonal or an international dimension. In addition, the OAG is responsible for executing requests for mutual assistance from foreign prosecution authorities. 

The OAG conducts its criminal investigations in close co-operation with the Federal Criminal Police (FCP). The OAG also co-operates closely with the cantonal law-enforcement authorities. As the OAG regularly conducts complex proceedings with international links, close co-operation with foreign law enforcement agencies is equally important. 

The tasks of the OAG are:

  1. Enforcing criminal law in relation to crimes that fall within federal jurisdiction by conducting investigations where there is sufficient suspicion that an offence has been committed;

  2. Initiating and consulting on new legislation on crime and criminal procedure, insofar as this is required in order to fight crime more efficiently;

  3. Supporting law enforcement in other countries by providing mutual assistance;

  4. Cooperating, coordinating, collaborating and exchanging information and expertise with partner authorities in Switzerland and with international organisations on various types of crime.

The Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland fulfils these tasks as an independent, self-governing authority by being suitably organised, and by making effective use of its human, financial and material resources (Art. 9 and 16 of the Federal Act on the Organisation of Federal Criminal Justice Authorities, Criminal Justice Authorities Act, SR 173.71). 

Legal principles

Mandat légal, tâches et bases légales

Mandat légal

En tant que Ministère public de la Confédération (MPC), le MPC est chargé d’enquêter sur les délits relevant de la juridiction fédérale, énumérés aux articles 23 et 24 du code de procédure pénale (CPP ; RS 312.0) et dans des lois fédérales spéciales.

Il s’agit, d’une part, des délits classiques contre la sûreté de l’Etat, c’est-à-dire d’actes pénalement répréhensibles visant avant tout la Confédération ou ses intérêts. D’autre part, la compétence du MPC s’étend à la poursuite pénale d’affaires complexes, intercantonales ou internationales, en matière de crime organisé (le terrorisme et son financement), de blanchiment d’argent et de corruption. Dans le cadre d’une compétence facultative de la Confédération, le MPC se saisit également des cas de criminalité économique d’ampleur nationale ou internationale. Enfin, l’exécution de demandes d’entraide judiciaires d’autorités étrangères relève également de la compétence du MPC.

Le MPC mène ses enquêtes pénales en étroite collaboration avec la Police judiciaire fédérale (PJF), en sa qualité de police judiciaire de la Confédération. De même, le MPC collabore étroitement avec les autorités cantonales de poursuite pénale. Comme le MPC mène régulièrement des procédures complexes avec des implications internationales, la collaboration intense avec les autorités de poursuite pénale étrangères est tout aussi importante.

Les tâches du MPC sont:

  1. l’exercice du droit de poursuite pénale de l’Etat dans le domaine de la juridiction fédérale en menant des enquêtes pénales en cas de soupçons fondés;

  2. l’initialisation et l’accompagnement de la législation dans le domaine du droit pénal matériel et formel, dans la mesure où cela contribue à une lutte efficace contre la criminalité;

  3. l’assistance à d’autres Etats en matière de poursuite pénale en pratiquant l’entraide judiciaire;

  4. la coopération, la coordination, la collaboration et les échanges de connaissances avec des autorités partenaires en Suisse et avec des organisations internationales à propos des diverses formes de criminalité.

Le MPC s’acquitte de son mandat en tant qu’autorité indépendante et auto-administrée constituant et exploitant sa propre organisation, et veillant à un engagement efficace de son personnel, de ses ressources financières et de ses moyens matériels (art. 9 et 16 de la loi sur l’organisation des autorités pénales de la Confédération (LOAP, RS 173.71))

Bases légales