Statutory duty, tasks and legal principles

Statutory duty

As the prosecutors’ office for the Confederation, the Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland (OAG) is responsible for investigating and prosecuting offences that fall under federal jurisdiction, as specified in Articles 23 and 24 of the Swiss Criminal Procedure Code (CrimPC; SR 312.0) and in other federal legislation.

These offences comprise classic state security crimes, i.e. criminal acts primarily directed against the Swiss Confederation or which strongly affect its interests. They also include complex intercantonal or international organised crime offences (including terrorism and its financing), money laundering and corruption. In certain circumstances, the OAG also has jurisdiction over cases of white collar crime that have an intercantonal or an international dimension. In addition, the OAG is responsible for executing requests for mutual assistance from foreign prosecution authorities. 

The OAG conducts its criminal investigations in close co-operation with the Federal Criminal Police (FCP). The OAG also co-operates closely with the cantonal law-enforcement authorities. As the OAG regularly conducts complex proceedings with international links, close co-operation with foreign law enforcement agencies is equally important. 

The tasks of the OAG are:

  1. Enforcing criminal law in relation to crimes that fall within federal jurisdiction by conducting investigations where there is sufficient suspicion that an offence has been committed;

  2. Initiating and consulting on new legislation on crime and criminal procedure, insofar as this is required in order to fight crime more efficiently;

  3. Supporting law enforcement in other countries by providing mutual assistance;

  4. Cooperating, coordinating, collaborating and exchanging information and expertise with partner authorities in Switzerland and with international organisations on various types of crime.

The Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland fulfils these tasks as an independent, self-governing authority by being suitably organised, and by making effective use of its human, financial and material resources (Art. 9 and 16 of the Federal Act on the Organisation of Federal Criminal Justice Authorities, Criminal Justice Authorities Act, SR 173.71). 

Legal principles

Gesetzlicher Auftrag, Aufgaben und rechtliche Grundlagen

Gesetzlicher Auftrag

Als Staatsanwaltschaft des Bundes ist die Bundesanwaltschaft (BA) zuständig für die Ermittlung und Anklage von Straftaten im Bereich der Bundesgerichtsbarkeit, wie sie in Art. 23 und 24 der Strafprozessordnung (StPO; SR 312.0) sowie in besonderen Bundesgesetzen aufgeführt werden. 

Einerseits handelt es sich dabei um klassische Staatsschutzdelikte, also Straftaten, die sich vornehmlich gegen den Bund richten oder dessen Interessen stark berühren. Andererseits fällt darunter die Strafverfolgung komplexer interkantonaler bzw. internationaler Fälle von organisierter Kriminalität (einschliesslich Terrorismus und dessen Finanzierung), Geldwäscherei und Korruption. Im Rahmen einer fakultativen Bundeskompetenz befasst sich die BA mit Fällen von Wirtschaftskriminalität gesamtschweizerischer oder internationaler Ausprägung. Schliesslich fällt auch der Vollzug von Rechtshilfegesuchen ausländischer Strafverfolgungsbehörden in die Zuständigkeit der BA.

Die BA führt ihre Strafuntersuchungen in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Bundeskriminalpolizei (BKP) als Gerichtspolizei des Bundes. Ebenso arbeitet die BA eng mit den kantonalen Strafverfolgungsbehörden zusammen. Da die BA regelmässig komplexe Verfahren mit internationalen Bezügen führt, ist die intensive Zusammenarbeit mit ausländischen Strafverfolgungsbehörden gleichermassen von grosser Bedeutung.  

Die Aufgaben der BA sind:

  1. die Durchsetzung des staatlichen Strafanspruchs auf dem Gebiet der Bundesgerichtsbarkeit durch Führung von Strafuntersuchungen bei Vorliegen eines hinreichenden Tatverdachts; 

  2. die Initialisierung und Begleitung der Rechtsetzung im Bereich des materiellen und formellen Strafrechts, soweit dies im Interesse einer effizienten Kriminalitätsbekämpfung angezeigt ist; 

  3. die Unterstützung anderer Länder bei der Strafverfolgung durch Leistung von Rechtshilfe;

  4. die Kooperation, Koordination, Zusammenarbeit und der Wissensaustausch mit Partnerbehörden innerhalb der Schweiz und mit internationalen Organisationen bezüglich Kriminalitätsformen.

Die Bundesanwaltschaft erfüllt diesen Auftrag als unabhängige, sich selbstverwaltende Behörde durch den Aufbau und Betrieb einer zweckmässigen Organisation, den wirksamen Einsatz von Personal sowie von Finanz- und Sachmitteln (Art. 9 und 16 des Bundesgesetzes über die Organisation der Strafbehörden des Bundes (StBOG, SR 173.71)).

Rechtliche Grundlagen