Organisation

The Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland is headed by the Attorney General of Switzerland (OAG), who is appointed by the Federal Assembly. The Attorney General has two deputies, also appointed by the Federal Assembly. TheĀ OAG has several locations in Switzerland. Its headquarters are located in Bern and it has further offices in Zurich, Lausanne and Lugano. The OAG currently employs around 220 staff.

On 1 February 2016, a new strategically defined organisational structure was put in place. The number of sections was reduced. They are now organised according to offences or fields of expertise.

The divisions National Security, Terrorism, Organised Crime (STK); White-Collar Crime (WiKri); and Mutual Legal Assistance, International Criminal Law (RV) conduct criminal proceedings in the given crime areas and perform the core tasks of the OAG. The WiKri division has offices in Bern, Lausanne, Lugano and Zurich. 

The Forensic Financial Analysis (FFA) division provides its services directly in individual criminal cases by analysing specific economic matters. 

The General Secretariat includes the following units that provide support: OAG Development, Finances, Human Resources, Legal Services, ICT and Central Services. The General Secretariat is also directly responsible for Initial Case Processing (ZEB), which is directly relevant for the criminal proceedings, and judgment enforcement. 

The Communications service and the legal counsel to the Attorney General of Switzerland are based in the Personal Office of the Attorney General.

Organisation

Die Bundesanwaltschaft (BA) steht unter der Gesamtverantwortung des Bundesanwalts, der von der Bundesversammlung gewählt wird. Er hat zwei Stellvertreter, deren Wahl ebenfalls der Bundesversammlung obliegt. Die BA hat mehrere Standorte in der Schweiz. Der Hauptsitz befindet sich in Bern und weitere Standorte in Zürich, Lausanne und Lugano. In der BA sind zurzeit rund 220 Mitarbeitende beschäftigt.

Per 1. Februar 2016 trat die aus der Strategie abgeleitete Aufbauorganisation in Kraft. Die Anzahl der Abteilungen wurde reduziert. Diese sind neu nach Delikts- bzw. Kompetenzfeldern organisiert: 

Die Abteilungen ‘Staatsschutz, Terrorismus, kriminelle Organisationen (STK)’, ‘Wirtschaftskriminalität (WiKri)’ sowie ‘Rechtshilfe, Völkerstrafrecht (RV)’ führen die Strafverfahren in den entsprechenden Deliktsbereichen und erfüllen die Kernaufgaben der BA. Die Abteilung WiKri ist lokal in die Standorte Bern, Lausanne, Lugano und Zürich gegliedert.

Die Abteilung ‘Forensische Finanzanalyse (FFA)’ erbringt ihre Leistungen direkt in den Strafverfahren durch die Analyse spezifischer wirtschaftlicher Fragestellungen.

Das Generalsekretariat umfasst Organisationseinheiten der Unterstützungsleistungen in den Bereichen BA Entwicklung, Finanzen, Human Ressources (HR), Recht sowie IKT und Zentrale Dienste. Auch die für die Strafverfahren unmittelbar relevante Zentrale Eingangsbearbeitung (ZEB) und der Urteilsvollzug sind dem Generalsekretariat zugeordnet.

Die Kommunikationsabteilung und der Rechtskonsulent des Bundesanwalts sind in der Abteilung ‘Büro des Bundesanwalts’ angesiedelt.